The Android head unit is equipped with an FM antenna filter, a rear SAM transmitter, and an output for activating the antenna.

Adv3nture

Hello, the first question is somewhat technical. The year 2012 (R350CDI LWB W251). I am new to Mercedes, having been a Saabs for years. However, MBWorld, the platform I joined, seems to be hesitant in offering a mentor.

I replaced the Comand 2.5 with a cost-effective Aliexpress Android head unit, which I found to be of high quality. All components are functioning well, with the exception of FM reception. I have identified an output (actuator) on the back SAM that seems to deactivate the antenna using a mechanism sometimes referred to as a 'antenna filter'. I believe it serves as both a power switch and a filter.

Are the outputs of SAM characterised as open drain or open collector? Alternatively, are they combined? One potential interim solution may include the application of either 0V or 12V to the 'filter' pin3. Alternatively, it may be more accurate to use a CANBUS tool to force a SAM output. The GPS system is functioning well, but, I am uncertain about the power source for the component located on the top.

Typically, the FM antenna amplifier is supplied with power from the HU rather than the SAM.

The Chinese HU's output consistently appears as blue. However, if your Ali express unit is specifically built to be plug and play for your model, the ISO connection will handle this issue.

It is fairly uncommon for these devices to come defective. The first step would include verifying that the blue output attains a voltage of 12 volts (+ve) when selecting the tuner.
At the ISO, I anticipate a voltage of 12 volts in blue, whereas the extra blue voltage would be associated with one of the other plugs. There is no issue with using it to power the amplifier if necessary.
Alternatively, verify that the amplifier has a voltage of 12 volts when required. However, if the FM was satisfactory before, it should be sufficient at this point.